Books, media, maps, reserve items, and technology are checked out at Circulation on the 1st Floor next to the library exit.
Login to View Checkouts or Renew
Frequently Asked Questions
|Books||May borrow||May borrow||May borrow||May not borrow|
|Nonprint Media||May borrow||May borrow||May borrow||May not borrow|
|Technology Items||May borrow||May borrow||May borrow||May not borrow|
|Maps||May borrow||May borrow||May borrow||May not borrow|
|Reserve Items||May borrow||May borrow||May borrow||May not borrow|
|Periodicals||May not borrow||May borrow||May not borrow||May not borrow|
Currently, due to Covid, students, faculty and staff will need their CSU Chico ID card or valid California driver’s license or California ID card.
- Students: 8 weeks with one 8 week auto-renewal.
Faculty & Staff: 1 year from the date of checkout.
- Popular Books
- 3 weeks with one 3 week renewal.
- Nonprint Media
- 7 days.
- Reserve Materials
- 24 hours.
There is no limit to the number of books or nonprint media items you can check out at one time.
Reserve items are limited to two items checked out at one time.
All items are automatically renewed one time. After that you will need to call the Circulation desk to renew your items. They may be renewed as often as needed provided they are not needed for reserve or by another patron.
Overdue items or items marked lost cannot be renewed online you must call the Circulation desk at 530-898-6501.
When an item should be on the shelf but cannot be located, a search will be initiated by the Circulation staff. You will be notified via email if the item is found.
If an item is checked out, you can place a resource sharing (inter-library loan) request electronically through the library catalog by clicking on the Request from another library button. When an item arrives in the library, you will be notified and the item will be held at circulation for pickup.
- Books & Media
- No fine
- Reserve Items
- $1.00 per hour to a maximum of $50.00
For main collection and non-print items: A bill for non-returned items will be issued automatically by our library management system 6 days after the due date. The bill is for replacement cost only. No fine is applied.
To pay a fine please call the circulation desk at 530-898-6501. They will process a credit card phone payment for you.
Library circulation services are blocked when overdue fines and/or fees reach $5.00.
University registration and transcripts are blocked when overdue fines and/or fees reach $30.00.
These restrictions are removed when billed items have been returned or the financial obligation has been paid.
Lost or stolen ID cards must be reported immediately to circulation. Items checked out on an ID card that is not reported lost or stolen within 24 hours will be charged to the patron’s account.